WA - Beach Lifeguard more
NSW - Kemspey Casual Lifeguards more
NSW - Great Lakes Casual Lifeguards more
NSW - Nambucca Casual Lifeguards more
Opportunity to participate in tsunami study more
Coates Hire On Board as Official Naming Partner of Coolangatta Gold more
Melissa King starts role as SLSA CEO more
SLSA Launches Book to Recognise Those Who Served more

Where we operate

Overview of ALS operations

The ALS is dedicated to saving lives and is committed to the provision of a proactive service on the beaches and within the community. We provide lifeguard services to local government and land managers throughout Australia. In fact, we are the sole provider of lifeguard services in most states.

We also work with land managers who provide their own service by providing advice and assistance on qualifications, training, standards and compliance issues. Our territory encompasses more than 200 beaches and we employ over 700 lifeguards at different times of the year.

See below for a list of the current lifeguard services and their main beaches operated by the ALS:

New South Wales | Queensland | Western Australia | Victoria | South Australia | Tasmania | Northern Territory

Australian Lifeguard Service (New South Wales)

Northern NSW

Tweed Shire - Duranbah, Fingal, North Kingscliff, Kingscliff, Casuarina, Cabarita, Hastings Point, North Pottsville, South Pottsville

Salt Resorts Pools - Mantra on Salt Beach and Peppers Salt Resort and Spa

Byron Shire (including the Cape Byron Trust) - Main Beach, South Golden, Brunswick Heads, First Sun (The Wreck), The Pass, Watego, Tallow (Cosy Corner), Suffolk Park, Broken Head. 

Ballina Shire - Lennox Head, Sharpes Beach, Shelley Beach (Ballina), Lighthouse Beach, South Ballina

Richmond Valley Shire - Evans Head

Clarence Shire - Iluka (Bluff) Beach, Turners Beach, Yamba Main Beach, Pippie Beach, Brooms

Head, Minnie Water, Wooli 

Bellingen Shire - North Beach, Hungry Head 

Nambucca Shire - Valla Beach, Nambucca Heads, Scotts Head

Kempsey Shire - Grassy Head, Horseshoe Bay, Main Beach, Hat Head, Crescent Head

Southern NSW

Greater Taree City - Crowdy Head, Old Bar, Black Head 

Great Lakes Shire - Forster, One Mile (Cape Hawke), Elizabeth (Pacific Palms), Tea Gardens Pool, Hawks Nest Beach

Port Stephens Shire - Fingal, One Mile, Birubi Point

Munmorah National Park - Frazer Beach

Magenta Golf and Country Club – Tuggerah Beach 

Pittwater - North Palm Beach, Palm Beach, Whale Beach, Avalon, Bilgola, Newport, Bungan, Mona Vale, Warriewood

Royal National Park - Wattamolla, Garie

Shoalhaven City - Shoalhaven Heads, Crookhaven Beach, Tilbury, Warraine, Cudmirrah, Narrawallee, North Mollymook, South Mollymook

Bega Valley Shire - Camel Rock, Horseshoe Bay, Tathra, Short Point, Bar, Merimbula, Pambula, Aslings (Eden)

Australian Lifeguard Service (Queensland)

Burdekin Shire Council - Alva Beach

Bundaberg Regional Council - Moore Park Beach, Kellys Beach, Mon Repos Beach, Oaks Beach, Elliot Heads Beach, Neilson Park Beach

Morton Bay Regional Council - Woorim Beach, Settlement Cove

Cairns Regional Council - Holloways Beach, Palm Cove, Bramston Beach, Green Island, Yorkeys Knob Beach, Trinity Beach, Kewarra Beach, Esplanade, Lagoon, Ellis Beach, Clifton Beach, Four Mile Beach

Gladstone Regional Council - Tannum Sands Beach, Agnes Water Beach

Cassowary Coast Regional Council - Mission Beach, North Mission, Etty Bay

Gympie Regional Council - Rainbow Beach

Fraser Coast Regional Council - Torquay Beach

Hinchinbrook Shire Council - Forrest Beach

Rockhamption Regional Council - Emu Park Beach, Yeppoon Beach

Mackay Regional Council - Harbour Beach, Lamberts Beach, Elimeo Beach, Blacks Beach, Sarina Beach

Redland City Council - Cylinder Beach, Main Beach, Adder Rock

Southbank Corporation - Streets Beach Lagoon

Townsville City Council - The Strand Net 1, The Strand Net 2, The Strand Water Park, Alma Bay, Picnic Bay, Horseshoe Bay, Balgal Beach, Riverway Lagoon

Whitsunday Regional Council - Airlie Beach Lagoon

Australian Lifeguard Service (Western Australia)

Wanneroo City Council - Yanchep Beach, Quinns Beach

Joondalup City Council - Mullaloo Beach, Hilarys Marina, Sorrento Beach

Town of Cambridge - Floreat Beach, City Beach

Town of Cottesloe - Cottesloe Beach

Rottnest Island Authority - The Basin

City of Rockingham - Secret Harbour Beach, Penguin Island

City of Busselton - Yallingup Beach, Smiths Beach, Meelup Beach, Bunker Bay

City of Greater Geraldton - Back Beach

City of Albany - Middleton Beach

Australian Lifeguard Service (Victoria)

East Gippsland Shire Council - Mallacoota, Lakes Entrance – Eastern Beach, Lakes Entrance – Main Beach

Wellington Shire Council - Seaspray, Woodside

Parks Victoria – Wilsons Promontory - Tidal River

South Gippsland Shire Council - Waratah Beach, Venus Bay

Bass Coast Shire Council - Inverloch, Woolamai Beach, Smiths Beach, Cowes

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council - Point Leo, Gunnamatta, Sorrento, Portsea

Borough of Queenscliffe - Queenscliff, Point Lonsdale

City of Greater Geelong/Waterfront/Barwon Coast  - Eastern Beach, Ocean Grove, RAFFS Beach (Spit 18W), 13th Beach, Bancoora

Surf Coast Shire Council - Torquay Front, Torquay Surf , Jan Juc, Anglesea, Point Roadknight, Fairhaven, Lorne

Colac Shire Council - Wye River, Apollo bay

Warrnambool City Council - Warrnambool

Moyne Shire Council - Port Fairy

Glenelg Shire Council - Narrawong

Australian Lifeguard Service (South Australia)

Holdfast Bay City Council - Glenelg North, Glenelg, Glenelg South, Somerton Park, Brighton, North Brighton, Brighton South, Seacliff, Kingston Park

Australian Lifeguard Service (Tasmania)

Clarence City Council - Clifton Beach

Australian Lifeguard Service (Northern Territory)

Darwin City Council - Mindil Beach

Darwin City Council / Darwin Waterfront Corp. - Darwin Wave Lagoon

"Our territory encompasses more than 250 beaches and we employ over 700 lifeguards at different times of the year."